QtCreator on Linux, and Qt for Symbian in general (updated)

I just installed the latest QtCreator with its simulator, and with the Remote Compiler option, was able to see an application actually running on my N85.

Qt not funny

And I have to say I was very unimpressed.

The thing is, this approach of emulating desktop widgets would enable – with some customisation – the creation of a rich user experience in the future (and with massive customisation).

You can teleport your database GUI you made in Qt on Symbian in a couple of minutes (after resizing the window to S60’s resolution).

But.. That’s not the point. I don’t need ‘Forms’ on my mobile.

I would have expected Qt Mobility to have a (new) set of controls that directly translate to what the S60 UI offers. But what I see in that screenshot it’s just canvas painting.. (excepting the menu).

In fact, I would go even further and say that, GUI-wise, this is worse than Web RunTime. HTML and CSS with some JavaScript would be much more customizable !

That doesn’t take away the fact that Qt C++ apps can crounch numbers faster – but aren’t we in the business of online-everything, even on the desktop?

Update1: QtQuick Components may solve this issue in the near future: http://labs.qt.nokia.com/2010/09/10/building-the-future-reintroducing-the-qt-quick-components/

Update2: Qt 4.7.0 is not actually available for n85. The smart installer I built with the Remote Compiler said ‘Device not supported’, although S60 3rd edition FP2 is listed there. Oh well, next time I’ll buy something mainstream..

One Trackback to “QtCreator on Linux, and Qt for Symbian in general (updated)”

Leave a comment